CDL Drivers - New Medical Certification Process


Effective immediately: the DDS will no longer accept CDL self-certifications by mail nor fax


Complete Self-Certification & Medical Documents

To better assist Commercial Driver License (CDL) holders licensed in Georgia to self-certify the type of commerce in which they operate and if required providing medical documentation, DDS has launched a new internet service. Please select the button above to complete this process on-line.

To complete self-certification or to determine if medical documentation is required, a driver must answer the following two (2) questions:

1)  Determine where you are driving a commercial vehicle:

InterState – I am driving from one State to another State or foreign country; or between two places within a State, but the cargo either originated in or will travel to another State or foreign country.


IntraState – I only drive within a State.  The cargo on the vehicle originated in the state and will not leave the state.

2)  Determine if Medical documentation is required for purpose in which you operate a Commercial Motor Vehicle:

If you drive only for one or more of the reasons listed below, you are EXCEPTED

  • School bus operations
  • Transportation performed by a federal government, state or political subdivision
  • Occasional transportation of personal property (Personal use)
  • Fire truck or rescue vehicle
  • Custom farm harvesting operations
  • Private motor carrier of passengers for non-business purposes
  • Human corpse, sick or injured persons
  • 9-15 passenger van (<26,001 pounds)
  • Controlled and operated by a farmer but is not a combination vehicle (no hazardous materials)
  • Emergency delivery of propane
  • Drivers of migrant workers
  • Beekeeper in the seasonal transportation of bees


If you drive for any other reason than those listed above, you are NON-EXCEPTED

Based on your answers to the 2 questions listed above you will be certified into only one of the four (4) categories listed below:

1.   Non-excepted Interstate (NI) - I operate or expect to operate in interstate commerce and am required to maintain federal medical certification. (Medical Certificate/Card Required)

2.   Non-excepted Intrastate (NA) - I operate or expect to operate only in intrastate commerce and am required to meet FMCSA driver qualification requirements. (Medical Certificate/Card Required)

3.   Excepted Interstate (EI) - I operate or expect to operate in interstate commerce, but engage exclusively in operations that qualify me for exception from the requirement to maintain federal medical certification.

4.   Excepted Intrastate (EA) - I operate or expect to operate only in a city, county, state or federal vehicle only, and I am exempt from the FMCSA driver qualification requirements.

CDL holders can no longer claim exemption from medical certification requirements because they are not currently operating in non-excepted interstate or intrastate commerce. If not specifically included above, they must maintain their medical certification or certify into an Excepted category.

If CDL holders are required to provide a medical certification then they must continue to carry all medical certification documents with them at all times even after completing the self-certification process with DDS.

  • To assist you in determining which type of commercial motor vehicle operation to self-certify please view the FAQs.
  • To read more about the new Medical Certification Federal Requirement visit
  • To view and update your CDL self-certification category and medical document information that is on file with the DDS, go to Online Services and log into your online account; or, create an account if you do not currently have one.

New FMCSA Medical Registry Requirement

To keep America's interstate CMV drivers healthy and our roads safer, all interstate CMV drivers will soon be required to have their medical examinations performed by a Certified Medical Examiner listed on the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners. If you're an interstate CMV driver, you already need a valid medical certificate signed by a medical examiner. The only change is that after May 21, 2014, you'll need to go to a certified medical examiner for your medical certificate. If you've already had an exam and have a current certificate that certificate will be valid until its regular expiration date. You can find certified medical examiners in your area—or anywhere in the country—easily by following:

1. Visit the National Registry Web site and search by Zip Code, State, or examiner name.
2. Choose a certified medical examiner from the list and call to make an appointment.
3. If your preferred health care professional isn't on the list, simply refer him or her to the Certified Medical Examiners page to learn more about getting certified.

For more information see the Fact Sheet for Drivers or  DOT Reminder Requesting Certified Medical Examiner visit the National Registry Web site.


Drivers can submit their self-certification, medical certification or medical waiver along with the “Commercial Self-Certification Form” (DDS Form 1207) by either:

  • Complete self-certification, medical certification or medical waiver online.
  • Fax to 770-918-6251.  Submissions by fax must be for individual customers.  Submission of documentation for multiple customers may be sent by mail.  Please include copies of each medical certificate/medical waiver (if required) and notice (if applicable) and self-certification form to:

    Department of Driver Services
    Attention: RM-CDL
    Post Office Box 80447
    Conyers, GA 30013
  • All documentation may also be submitted in person at any DDS Customer Service Center (CSC).

For assistance, please call the DDS Customer Contact Center.

Latest Medical Certification Updates from FMCSA:

Additional information :




Last Updated On: 11/9/2015