Driver License or Instructional Permit
Click here if you are not a US citizen
You must apply for a Georgia driver license within 30 days of becoming a Georgia resident. All Customer Service Centers can transfer an out-of-state license to a Georgia driver license. View the current fee information.
Note: Knowledge (written) testing must begin at least 30 minutes before the center closes.
Click here if you have a Driver License from another country
All documents must be in English. Click here Translator List to locate an approved document translation company.
- Exchange a Valid (or expired less than 2 years) Out-of-State Driver License for a Georgia Driver License
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Surrender a valid out-of-state license or an out-of-state license expired less than two years. If you do not have the license in your possession, see Lost or Expired Out of State License section on this page.
- An out-of-state driver license is defined as one issued by one of the other 49 states and District of Columbia.
- For driver licenses from other countries, see Drivers From Other Nations.
- By surrendering a license as described above, you are exempt from the written and road test.
Exception: Driver Licenses from US Territories must pass the written and road tests.
- You will need to pass the vision exam.
- Documents Required
- Please see our Secure ID Enrollment Document requirements at www.dds.ga.gov/secureid/accepteddocs.aspx
Please Note: Your social security number will be verified with the Social Security Administration and personal information must be consistent with both Agencies to be issued a driver license.
**All documents used to prove identity must be originals or certified copies; faxes and photocopies are not acceptable.**
- Lost and Expired Out of State License
- If you do not have the out-of-state driver license in your possession, an original letter of clearance or certified driving record from the issuing state must be presented.
- The letter or driving record must be dated within 30 days.
- All licensing information from the issuing state must be included in the letter or driving record.
- Out-of-state driver license expired
- If the out-of-state driver license is expired for less than two years, you will only be required to take a vision test.
- If the out-of-state driver license is expired for two years or more, you will be required to pass the written, road and vision exams.
- Learner Permit
A person surrendering an out-of-state learner permit for a Georgia permit must meet all other licensing requirements (see Teen and New Drivers). Written tests may be taken at any Customer Service Center and test must begin at least 30 minutes before office close time. Please allow longer to process paperwork and issue permit.
Notes: The state of issuance may have different requirements for those under age 18 than the teen driving requirements in Georgia, for specific information. However, Georgia law requires that a teen hold a permit for one year and one day before being issued a driver license and time holding an out-of-state permit is counted.
Additional information for applicants New to Georgia can be found in the links below.
Commercial Driver License (CDL)
- Transfer an Unexpired Out-of-State CDL (Classes 'A', 'B' or 'C')
Regular Driver License/Permit/ID
Last Updated On: 6/11/2014
- Transfer an Unexpired Out-of-State Non-Commercial Driver's License (Class 'C').
- Transfer an Unexpired Out-of-Country Non-Commercial Driver's License (Class 'C').
How would you rate the quality of this article?
Tell us why you rated the article this way.