No. Federal law requires all CDL transactions to be done in person.
Note: Drivers holding multiple documents may surrender their CDL to conduct an address change on other documents.
The first address/name change during a renewal period is free. If you have already received a free address/name change since your last renewal, charges may be associated with your address/name change request.
Drivers holding multiple documents are required to change their address/name on all documents or surrender any documents they do not wish to change. Additional cost may be associated with an address change request.
No, all Non-US citizen must come into a Customer Service Center for all driver’s license/permit/ID card transactions.
No, however, if eligible you can obtain an ID card or limited permit with your new address.
Yes, a P.O. Box may be used as a mailing address but a residential address must be provided.
Note: The mailing address will be printed on the driver’s license/permit/ID card.
Yes, if you have a Secure Driver’s License or ID with a star in the upper right hand corner as shown below.
If you do not have a Secure driver’s license or ID, you will need to follow the instructions for renewing in person at any local Customer Service Center (CSC).
If you already have a Secure Driver’s License or your current driver’s license is more than 6 months from expiring, then you have the option of updating your address online at https://online.dds.ga.gov/onlineservices/account/login.aspx, or visiting a CSC.
If visiting a CSC and you have a Secure driver’s license or ID card or your current driver’s license or ID card is more than 6 months from expiring, then you will need to bring one (1) document showing your new address.
You should bring all required documentation when you visit the CSC. A list of acceptable documents can be found on the Secure Driver's License and ID
Connect with DDS
Share DDS with Others
Georgia Government Links
© 2005-2017 State of Georgia Department of Driver Services