How to obtain Driver’s
training

A variety of methods are available to
obtain the necessary training. You
may customize training to fit your life-
style. It is accessible, effective and
affordable. See the website for more
specific information.

Behind the wheel
instruction by pro-
fessional or parent

-

Virtual on-line classroom

Public School or private
Classroom instruction

What if I don’t complete Drivers

Education at age 16?

You will have to wait until age 17 to obtain

a Class D license.

Public Awareness Campaign Funded by
the Georgia Driver’s Education
Commission

Joshua’s Law
New Teen
Driving
Requirements

www.qateendrivereducation.dds.ga.qov

Department of Driver Services
2206 East View Drive

Conyers, GA 30013
(678) 413-8400

www.dds.ga.gov




Don’t he Stopped From

Bpplying when you are ready!

Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16 year-

olds applying for a Class D driver's
license must complete an approved
driver education course and complete
a total of 40 hours of supervised driv-

ing, 6 hours of which must

be at night, with a par-
ent or guardian's
sworn verification that
these requirements

have been met.

Any Georgia resident who has not
completed an approved driver educa-
tion course must be at least 17 years
old to be eligible for a Class D driver's
license. He or she must have com-
pleted a total of at least 40 hours of
supervised driving, including at least
6 hours at night. The same verification
in writing by a parent or guardian is

required.

What is Driver Education?

A series of courses developed or approved
by the Department of Driver Services for
the purpose of assisting students to meet
the requirements for obtaining a Class D

provisional license.

What are some of the methods
of Driver Education?

e Public/Private School (30 hrs) class-
room (virtual or instructor) and (6 hrs)
private behind the wheel training
(students also need an additional 40 hrs

of supervised driving experience).

e Public/Private School (30 hrs) class-
room (virtual or instructor) and parent
taught behind the wheel . (The parent
taught program is a 40 hr comprehen-

sive driving course.)

e Virtual (30 hrs) classroom and (6 hrs)
private behind the wheel training
(students will also need an additional
40 hrs of supervised driving experi-

ence).

jﬁ\
e Virtual (30 hrs) classroom
and (40 hr) parent taught
behind the wheel. (The '
parent taught program is \
a 40 hr comprehensive
driving course.) \
o

e ALL STUDENTS MUST
HAVE 6 HOURS OF SUPERVISED
DRIVING AT NIGHT.

What would allow me to
obtain an insurance discount?

A Certificate of Completion indicating you
have successfully completed a traditional
program consisting of 30 hours of classroom

and 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction.

You may also be eligible for a $150.00 tax

credit.

! Be Aware !!

You must hold a Learner’s Permit for one
year and one day to be eligible for a Class

D license.



