My DDS Logo
Pre-Apply for your CSC Visit

Changes To Your License

Address, Name and Physical Changes

US and non-US citizens are allowed one free name or address change during the term of their original driver's license/permit/ID card. To be eligible for a free driver's license/permit/ID card the applicant must complete the change request 150 days prior to the expiration date currently listed on the driver's license/permit/ID card.

Subsequent name and/or address changes, during the original driver's license/permit/ID card term will require a renewal. A renewal will extend the term of the driver's license/permit/ID card. Renewals conducted via the DDS Online Services portal will receive a $5.00 discount from the fees stated above.

Address Changes

Residents are required to update the address currently listed on their driver's license/permit/ID card within 60 days of moving.

  1. Address change is available during online renewal.
  2. Renewal fees may apply if
    • completed within 150 days of expiration date
    • additional name and/or address changes during original term


To use online services, customers must be US Citizens with Georgia residency. 

  1. There is a $5.00 discount if charges apply.
  2. Certain vision restrictions may apply.
  3. Commercial Driver's License holders are not eligible for online services.

In Person

Beginning July 1, 2012, DDS implemented Secure ID (resulting from Federal requirements of the Real ID Act), which requires customers to provide two (2) documents proving residential address, when visiting a Customer Service Center (CSC). However, if a customer currently holds a Secure DL/ID, only one (1) document is needed to prove residency.

For a list of acceptable documents proving residential address, please click here .

Name Changes

Applicant name changes must be processed, in person, at a Customer Service Center. Applicant is required to update the name listed on their driver's license/permit/ID card within 60 days, as required by law.

  1. Renewal fees may apply if
    • completed within 150 days of expiration date
    • additional name and/or address changes during original term
  2. If applicant's name has changed from original birth record or passport, applicant is required to present certified legal documents supporting each name change, such as: marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption papers and/or legal name change.
  3. All documents must be in English.
  4. Applicants married in the state of Georgia, on or after November 1, 1982 and who wish to hyphenate a surname and married name must present a certified copy of the marriage license application reflecting the selection of a hyphenated surname.
  5. Applicants whose surnames have changed by reason of a marriage that occurred outside the state of Georgia may obtain a driver's license/permit/ID card in the hyphenated married surname upon submission of a certified copy of a marriage license application or state issued marriage certificate for the marriage.

Physical Changes

Applicants are required to update physical details, listed below, in person at a Customer Service Center:

  1. Weight
  2. Height
  3. Eye Color
  4. Gender


  1. Gender updates requires applicant to submit a court order or physician's letter certifying gender change.
  2. The letter or court order shall state the person's name, date of birth, date of gender reassignment operation and other identifying information.
  3. On June 26, 2015, the United States Supreme Court ruled that all States recognize same-sex marriage.  Same-sex marriage is recognized in the State of Georgia. 
Last Updated On: 6/29/2015