Reinstatement requirements vary depending on the type of suspension and the circumstances of the conviction(s).
This information is provided as a general reference for six common driver's license suspension types.
Georgia law mandates the suspension of the driver's license of anyone who fails to meet his or her child support obligation(s). Child Support suspensions are triggered by electronic notifications to the DDS from the Georgia Department of Human Services (DHS).
Upon receipt of notification from the DHS, the DDS sends notice to the non-custodial parent alerting him/her of the pending suspension and offering a grace period to come into compliance with the child support obligation before the suspension is put into effect. A child support suspension will remain in effect indefinitely until the non-custodial parent comes into compliance with his or her child support obligation(s). Select for Reinstatement FAQs - Child Support.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
Anyone age twenty-one (21) or older convicted of driving under the influence, DUI, in the State of Georgia is subject to a suspension or revocation of his/her driver's license or non-resident driving privilege for a period of 120 days to five (5) years depending upon the prior driving record. Suspensions and revocations also result from convictions imposed upon Georgia residents by courts in other states. Select for Reinstatement FAQs - DUI.
Select for additional DUI information.
Failure to Appear (FTA)
An FTA suspension occurs when a driver fails to appear in court and does not pay a traffic citation. Select for Reinstatement FAQs - FTA.
No Proof of Insurance
Anyone operating a motor vehicle registered in Georgia must have automobile liability insurance for at least the minimum limits required by law to drive. Failure to provide valid proof of insurance when asked, by law enforcement, will result in a driver's license or permit suspension. Select for Reinstatement FAQs Types - No Proof of Insurance (First Offence).
Select for Reinstatement FAQs Types – No Proof of Insurance (Multiple Convictions).
Points are accumulated on a person's driving record as a result of certain convictions. Georgia driver's licenses are suspended for any person who accumulates 15 or more points within 24 months; anyone under age 18 who accumulated 4 points within twelve months; and for any person under the age of 21 who is convicted of a 4 point violation.
Reinstatement FAQs – First Points Violations (Age 21 & over)
Reinstatement FAQs – Second Points Violations (Age 21 & over)
Reinstatement FAQs – Third Points Violations (Age 21 & over)
Points System Information
If the DDS receives notification of your conviction for speeding at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or highway, or at 85 mph and above on any road or highway in the State of Georgia, the offender will be notified by first class mail of the $200 Super Speeder fee.
The offender will have 120 days from the date of the notice to pay the fee to DDS. Failure to pay the fee in the time allotted will result in the suspension of the driver's license and the offender will be required to pay a reinstatement fee, select Reinstatement Fees and Payment Options for details. Additionally, select for Super Speeders FAQs.
Additional Reinstatement Information
Select for Reinstatement FAQs - General Information.
Driver's License Suspensions and Revocations
Reinstatement Fees and Payment Options
Last Updated On: 9/17/2012
How would you rate the quality of this article?
Tell us why you rated the article this way.