It depends on your age at the time you apply for your Class D Georgia driver’s license.
If you are under the age of 17, you will be required to show proof that you successfully completed a driver education course approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS). In addition, you must have completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night.
If you are age 17 or older, you will not be required to show proof that you completed a driver education course. However, you will still be required to have completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night.
Georgia’s driver education program is comprised of two components—a theoretical component and a practical component. The theoretical component consists of a minimum of 30 hours of instruction, which teens can acquire either in a classroom environment or via the web through any of the DDS-approved online courses. The practical, or behind-the-wheel component, can be obtained under the supervision of a DDS-licensed instructor or through use of the complimentary DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide.
There are two ways to complete each component, resulting in four methods of satisfying the driver education requirements. See the chart here.
A “30 and 6” driver education course is the traditional course consisting of at least 30 hours of instruction in a classroom environment and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training conducted by a certified instructor that coaches the student and observes his or her driving performance.
“Supervised driving” refers to driving experience obtained under the supervision of an individual that is at least 21 years old, possesses a valid Class C driver’s license, is seated next to the driver at all times while he or she is driving, and is capable of exercising control over the vehicle if necessary.
No log is required for supervised driving. However, at the time application is made for a Class D driver’s license, a parent, guardian, or duly authorized DDS-certified driver education instructor will be required to swear or affirm under penalty of law that the applicant received 40 hours of supervised driving experience, 6 hours of which was at night.
Yes. The 30-hour theoretical component of driver’s education may be taken online. A complete list of DDS-approved online driver’s education courses can be found here.
Please be aware that online providers may offer a variety of traffic safety courses or may be approved in other states, so be sure to register for the driver education course that satisfies the Joshua’s Law requirements for the State of Georgia.
Also, remember that in addition to the 30-hour theoretical component, teens under the age of 17 must complete the practical component of driver’s education under the supervision of a DDS-licensed instructor or through use of the complimentary DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide, which is available as a free download here.
Unfortunately, the DDS does not have access to that information. You will need to contact the online course directly for your account information.
The DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide is a handbook that provides in-car lessons to help parents prepare their teenagers for the responsibilities of driving. The guide can be used in conjunction with a 30-hr. DDS-approved classroom or online driver education course to satisfy the driver’s education requirements of Joshua's Law. The DDS Parent/Teen Driving Guide is available at DDS Customer Service Centers or as a free download here.
Georgia law allows insurance companies to offer reductions in automobile insurance premiums to customers that complete a driver education course. We recommend that you speak with your insurance agent.
Parents or guardians may be eligible for a state income tax credit if their dependent minor child successfully completes a driver education course through a DDS-approved private driver training school.
A copy of the Certificate of Completion and proof of the fees paid for the course will be required to qualify for the credit. The amount of the credit is equal to $150.00 or the actual amount paid for the driver education course, whichever is less.
Courses taken at private or public high schools do not qualify for this credit. Check with the Department of Revenue for more information.
No. Driver education instructors are employees of the schools where they instruct. The DDS credentials driver education instructors in accordance with the requirements set forth by DDS rules and regulations and the Georgia Driver Training School Act.
No. Driver training schools are independently owned and operated or offered through local schools or school districts. The DDS credentials school owners, the instructors they employ, and ensures compliance with DDS rules and regulations in accordance with the Georgia Driver Training School Act.
You may use the “Contact Us” feature above or you may submit a question or comment to Ask Teen Driver.
You may contact the National Safety Council or AAA (American Automobile Association) to find where you can take a Driver Improvement class in your state. It must be a minimum of 6 hours in a classroom setting and you are not allowed to take the same course twice to equal the 6 hour requirement. Online classes are not accepted at this time.
All complaints related to a school or instructor must be made using the official DDS complaint form. The official DDS complaint form can be found here.
An certified driver education course is a course approved by the DDS. Driver education courses not approved by the DDS can not be used for purpose of obtaining a Class D Georgia driver’s license. A full list of DDS-certified driver education courses can be found at the following link:
If your child is under the age of 17 and wishes to obtain a Class D Georgia driver’s license, they will be required to show proof that they successfully completed a driver education program from one of the DDS-approved schools. However, if your child has parents in the active military service of the U.S., they can use their out of state driver’s education certificate provided that it’s within 9 months of their 16th birthday.
How would you rate the quality of this article?
Tell us why you rated the article this way.
Connect with DDS
Share DDS with Others
Georgia Government Links
© 2005-2013 State of Georgia Department of Driver Services