Effective January 1, 2007 there will be new requirements for class D driver's licenses
Are you familiar with Joshua's Law? It is a bill that changes the requirements
that teen drivers must meet in order to obtain a
Class D driver's license starting on January 1, 2007.
To get a Class D driver's license at age sixteen (16):
- You must have completed a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services and
- You also must have completed a cumulative total of at least forty (40) hours of
other supervised driving experience, including at least six (6) hours at night.
If you have not completed an approved driver's education course, you cannot get
your Class D driver's license until you reach age seventeen (17). Remember,
forty (40) hour of driving experience, including six (6) hours of driving at
night, is always required for a Class D driver's license.
Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA)
Obtaining a Learner's Permit
Obtain Your First Driver's License (Class D)
School and Your Driver's License
Georgia Department of Driver Services - http://www.dds.ga.gov
Governor's Office of Highway Safety - http://www.gateendrivereducation.dds.ga.gov
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Joshua's Law?
Senate Bill 226 also known as "Joshua's Law" was passed during
the 2005 General Assembly. Beginning January 1, 2007, all 16 year-olds applying
for a Class D driver's license must complete an approved driver education
course and complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which
must be at night, with a parent or guardian's sworn verification that these
requirements have been met. Any Georgia resident who has not completed an
approved driver education course must be at least 17 years old to be eligible
for a Class D driver's license. He or she must have completed a total of at
least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. The
same verification in writing by a parent or guardian is required.
Where can I find an approved driver's education course?
Who conducts the 6 hours of night training?
Parent of Legal Guardian
What if my child is seventeen years old do the same rules apply?
No, but they must have 40 hours of supervised driving (6 of
which must be at night).
When does the law change take place?
January 1, 2007
Am I able to get an insurance reduction when my child completes
a state approved Driver's Education course?
Only a Certificate of Completion from a State Licensed School
providing 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours behind the wheel
instruction would be eligible for a reduction in insurance premiums.
What is the cost of a driver's education course?
Costs are determined by the schools.
Who can I contact for further information?
Ask Teen Driver
What if my child just moved in to the state of Georgia?
Any 16 year old must have taken and approved Drivers Education
Course to be issued a license in Georgia. If you have taken a course out of
state please contact DDS.