(1) Georgia identification cards are available to Georgia residents only. Any Georgia resident, as defined in O.C.G.A. §40-5-1, applying for an identification card shall provide to the Department the information as specified in O.C.G.A. §40-5-100.
(2) Individuals with out-of-state driver’s licenses may not obtain a Georgia identification card and maintain the out-of-state license. In order for these individuals to obtain a Georgia identification card, they must either obtain a Georgia driver's license prior to the issuance of the identification card; or, surrender the out-of-state license to the examiner at the time the identification card is issued. Customers who cannot surrender a driver’s license or identification card previously issued by another state must provide a certified copy of his or her driving record from the state that issued said driver’s license or identification card.
(3) Customers who previously have been issued an identification card or driver’s license in another country may retain said identification card or driver’s license. The Department shall make a notation on the customer’s driving record that the foreign driver’s license or identification card was retained, and this notation shall be made available to law enforcement officers via the Georgia Crime Information Center.
(4) The Department shall collect a fee of $20.00 or $32.00 for the issuance of an identification card except as provided in O.C.G.A. §§40-5-103(b), (c), and (d).
(a) All non-profit organizations referring anyone to the Department for an identification card shall provide that individual with a copy of an agreement previously entered into with the Department whereby such organization verifies that the individual applying for such identification card is indigent.
(b) It shall be the responsibility of the non-profit organization to provide the Department with an agreement. Upon approval by the Department and the non-profit organization, the Department may accept a copy of the agreement from the indigent referred by the non-profit organization in order to provide the identification card to the individual at a reduced fee of $5.00.
(a) Any license, permit or identification card that is intended to be compliant with the requirements of 49 U.S.C. §30301 note and 6 C.F.R. §37.01, et seq. shall contain the information or design requirements set forth therein.
(b) No person may be issued a license, permit or identification card that is compliant with Paragraph (a), supra, while he or she retains another such card. Customers are eligible for issuance of non-compliant cards in addition to the compliant card. Similarly, a customer may switch from one type of compliant card to another by surrendering the compliant card that is no longer desired and paying a replacement fee.